Monday, 6 March 2017


By: Charlie Butler

Album Type: Full Length
Date Released: 10/03/2017
Label: Pelagic Records

Deadweights” is an exciting opening salvo from Hyenas, it is an exhilarating hit of chaotic hardcore, metal fury and punk’n’roll that takes me back to the early to mid-2000s

“Deadweights” CD//DD//LP track listing:

1. Noise
2. Crooked Tongue
3. Ambiself
4. Crossbearer
5. Self-Adjusting
6. Homeostasis
7. Verminious
8. Smooth Talkers
9. Displaced
10. Live // Live
11. Nothing

The Review:

Hyenas debut LP fills me with a warm nostalgia for the recent past. “Deadweights” is an exhilarating hit of chaotic hardcore, metal fury and punk’n’roll that takes me back to the early to mid-2000s. Bands like Minus, Beecher and Norma Jean released killer albums that had an indelible effect on my heavy tastes and Hyenas bring this sound kicking and screaming into 2017.

“Noise” eases the listener in gently with a minute of ominous calm before the Nuremburg quartet lurch into the noise rock rumble of “Crooked Tongue”. From here the band launch into a series of high octane hell-raisers like “Crossbearer” where complex noisecore riffs and straight-ahead heavy punk rock combine to powerful effect.

“Verminious” takes up the clean guitar figure introduced in “Noise” and expands it into a moody, post-metal indebted burner. This provides a refreshing change of pace at the album’s mid-point and demonstrates Hyenas skill in tackling different elements without compromising on intensity. “Displaced” sees the band unexpectedly tackling a pared down ballad. Using only a clean guitar and vocals, the track is surprisingly effective and manages to avoid being jarring and cloying in contrast to the surrounding carnage. It also provides a welcome breather before the raging parting combo of “Live // Live” and “Nothing”. The former is one last reminder of Hyenas at their feral best which segues into the latter, a menacing slow-motion riff that slowly unravels into glorious chaos.

“Deadweights” is an exciting opening salvo from Hyenas, a brief burst of caustic racket that bodes well for a noisy future.

“Deadweights” is available to preorder/buy here

Band info: bandcamp|| facebook

FFO: The Chariot, Norma Jean, Converge, The Dillinger Escape Plan

1 comment:

Blogger said...

Did you know that you can create short urls with AdFly and make cash from every visit to your short links.