Tuesday 13 July 2021

ALBUM REVIEW: Kollapse, "Sult"

 By: Peter Morsellino
Album Type: Full Length
Date Released: 25/06/2021
Label: Fysisk Format | Dingleberry Records |
 Maniyax Records | Virkelighedsfjern


“Sult” DD//LP track listing:

1. Drift (05:18)
2. Knæler (06:00)
3. Drukner (07:41)
4. Byrd (05:24)
5. Libido (05:27)
6. Der Hvor Jeg Tænker Er Der Altid Mørkt (11:32)

The Review:

Kollapse’s “Sult” album is heavy as shit.  There is a lot more to it than that, but there it is.  If you enjoy heavy ass music, you’re going to want to check this out.  If you don’t like heavy music, well, let's chat about why you should listen to Kollapse anyway. 

This Danish trio comes together to create an enormous sound that is difficult to imagine coming from such a small troupe.  The sound is frankly massive.  It is layered, yet organic and has enough depth to warrant repeated listens to peel back each piece and examine a new facet of the sonic assault. 

While heavy grooves abound throughout “Sult”’s runtime, it is the highly emotive and thoughtful softer pieces that are speckled across the album that really create something special.  Songs like “Drukner” speak to a higher plain of music that welcomes the listener into its arms and engulfs them in the thick atmosphere of angst. 

“Sult” crafts an air of emotion and mystery around itself that can be difficult to decipher upon first listen.  This by no means should discourage listeners from giving it a shot.  The album sounds wonderful and provides more than enough material that the listener will want to return to, but repeated listens will allow for a better understanding and more appreciative listening experience.  This is one that the mind can really dwell on.  Give it a listen for sure.

“Sult” is available HERE

Band info: Facebook || Bandcamp || Instagram

Tuesday 6 July 2021

ALBUM REVIEW: Go Ahead And Die, "Go Ahead and Die"

 By: Peter Morsellino
Album Type: Full Length
Date Released: 11/06/2021
Label: Nuclear Blast

“Go Ahead and Die” CD//DD//LP track listing:
1. Truckload Full Of Bodies
2. Toxic Freedom
3. I.C.E. Cage
4. Isolated/Desolated
5. Prophet’s Prey
6. Punisher
7. El Cuco
8. G.A.A.D.
9. Worth Less Than Piss
10. (In The) Slaughterline
11. Roadkill
The Review:
Aggressive and powerful, Go Ahead And Die strikes out to create something of its own in the face of expectations.  The illustrious history of the band’s father-son duo of Max and Igor-Amadeaus Cavalera will surely pique the interest in fans hearing of the band for the first time and color the expectations of listeners awaiting their first taste of the beast.  
The Self-Titled album features a viciously heavy blend of Death Metal and Thrash that is sure to delight fans of early Death Metal pioneers.  The album does have a distinctly modern feel to it though, proving itself as more than a mere tribute act to the sound that came before it. 
Igor cements himself here as a force to be reckoned with, taking center stage at various points of the album.  There will be detractors claiming this to be a novelty project of Cavalera senior, but upon first listen, there is no doubt that Go Ahead And Die is the real deal.  With the blistering speeds and memorable grooves present, this is one that can be listened to repeatedly.
I would be hard pressed to say that new ground is being broken here, but what is presented is just about as solid as it comes.  I would highly recommend it to any fan of old school death metal and the heavier reaches of thrash.  If nothing else, give this one a listen and quell your curiosity.  I do not think you’ll regret it.  
“Go Ahead and Die” is available HERE

Band info: facebook

Monday 5 July 2021

REVIEW: Supreme Conception, "“Empires of the Mind” [EP]

By: Richard Maw

Album Type: Full Length
Date Released: 06/08/2021
Label: Independent

“Empires of the Mind” DD track listing:
1). “Beyond the Antediluvian”
2). “Harboring The Fractured Transcendence”
3). “Transgression I: The Underlying Identity”
4). “Transgression II: Self-Discovery”
5). “On The Path To Divinity”
The Review:
Technical death metal is surely a divisive genre- incomprehensible to many, pointless to some and to others... godly. Godly, that is, when it is done well. Fortunately, Supreme Conception are excellent. The production of these five tracks is crystal clear, the playing razor sharp, the vocals growling. Indeed, the vocals remind me- perhaps somewhat incongruously of a certain Glenn Benton in many places. 
From the opener “Beyond the Antediluvian” to the closing “On The Path to Divinity”, this is a technical tour de force. It is fast, furious, and pretty relentless. This Czech two-man project have put out only this and a release back in 2009; it is not a problem when the music is this good, though. If you are a fan of tech-death in all its forms, you will find what you like about the genre here in this five track stormer of an EP.
“Empires of the Mind” is available HERE 

Band info: bandcamp || facebook