Wednesday 31 August 2016

SONG PREMIERE: "With Malicious Eye" by Northern Crown

As modern torchbearers in the dark halls of heavy metal, Northern Crown pays homage to doom bands of the past but don’t let the old ways define them.  The band’s first release, 2014’s “In The Hands of The Betrayer”, featured five intense pieces ranging from four to twelve minutes in length. Covering the emotions of retribution, shock, outrage, and despair, the EP is full of twists and turns, with the lengthy closer “To Thee I Give an Orchid” delivering the modus operandi of the band, earning special recognition in each review it received.

2 years later, Northern Crown, who hail from Fort Lauderdale, Florida are back with their debut full length, entitled The Others”, which sees the band stretching themselves and pushing the boundaries of their own sound, and in turn taking a less rigid approach to the genre.  Vocalist/guitarist Frank Serafine notes, “we know what we’re good at now, and focused more on bringing out those performances from each other.”

With the vocals of Serafine invoking a heady blend of influence from such luminaries, as Ronnie James Dio, Rob Halford, Roy Khan, and Jorn Lande, Northern Crown also welcomed back founding member Leona Hayward to the fold, rounding out the rhythm section with a heavy Steve Harris/Geezer Butler-inspired attack.

Main songwriter and guitarist Zachary Randall notes that “this is easily the most personal art I've ever created, both musically and lyrically.” Indeed it is this care and attention to detail that has contributed to the creation of a more refined release, one of real character and vision.

“The Others” will be released on October 14th and today we can debut the stunning track “With Malicious Eye” for your listening pleasure. 

“The Others” track listing

1. With Malicious Eye
2. Surreality (The Tell-Tale Mind)
3. No One Came to Mourn Me
4. Apostate
5. A Pox Upon Your House
6. Les Autres

Band info: facebook