Wednesday 5 April 2017

TRACK PREMIERE: Swamp master generals Morass of Molasses make a blistering statement with "My Leviathan"

Self-described "swamp master generals" Morass of Molasses will release their new album “These Paths We Tread” on May 19th 2017 via HeviSike Records.  The album's 7 tracks blend fuzz, sludge and doom and will undoubtedly be remembered as one of the best records of 2017.

Morass of Molasses create the kind of lumbering heavy blues riffs which induce involuntary head nodding and a deep stirring of the loins. The band's short life so far has also seen them sharing stages with such luminaries of the scene as Orange Goblin, Ohhms, Vodun, Elephant Tree, Desert Storm, Space Witch, Sea Bastard, Limb, Gurt and many more. Their gutsy Jagermiester stage performance at Bloodstock helped propel them into a relentless schedule of touring during which they released their debut EP So Flows Our Fate.  

The new album, “These Paths We Tread” is a veritable melting pot of ideas, blended together, forming a thick stew of heavy blues with side of doom for good measure. As in the EP before, the band uses the album as a vehicle to explore concepts of mythic sin and ancient archetypes. The Journey we take through life as humans is ever at the forefront, and drives the songwriting. 

Without resorting to speed runs, tapping, or other flashy distractions, Morass of Molasses focuses on a basic formula of riff, tone, a massive backbone of rhythm supplied from bass and drumming, and catchy, rock-laden lyrics and delivery, creating a sinfully sweet ride through the slightly hazy and humid land they call their soul. Gaze into it, and let the wind whistle a neat little tune into your ear as we premiere the opening track from their monstrous new album.  We give you “My Leviathan”

“These Paths We Tread” DD//LP track Listing: 

1. My Leviathan
2. So They Walk
3. Serpentine
4. The Ritual
5. Centralia
6. Maenads
7. Wrath Of Aphrodite

Band info: facebook || bandcamp