Saturday 5 March 2016

King Mud - "Victory Motel Sessions" (Album Review)

By: Victor Van Ommen

Album Type: Full Length
Date Released: 05/02/2016
Label: Alive Naturalsound Records

“Victory Motel Sessions” CD//DD//LP track listing:

01. Rat Time
02. Smoked All My Bud
03. Back It Up
04. Arther’s Hooked
05. Keep It Out of Sight
06. Take a Look
07. War Dancers
08. I Can Only Give You Everything
09. Suzy’s Cookies
10. Blood River

The Review:

Featuring Freddy J IV of Left Lane Cruiser and Evans Van Campbell of Black Diamond Heavies, it should be no surprise that King Mud is a band that makes gritty, groovy blues music.

Victory Motel Sessions,” their debut, plays out like a birthday party down at the local watering hole. The band may have been playing all night and all the shots have been free, but there’s no one around who wants to go home just yet. So even though Freddy’s voice is hoarse, he’ll continue to give it his all just as long as Evans keeps pounding away at the skins. This is blues music after all; it’s played from the heart and the heart is always on.

Be it the good time jam of “Rat Time” or running out of weed in “Smoked All My Bud” before getting sassy in “Back it Up,” King Mud has the party wrapped around their finger. Love songs about lust and heart break pop up too, and there’s even a slow blues jam called “Suzy’s Cookies” that steals the show. These two guys have never strayed from what they’ve set out to do and that’s apparent once again in these stoner-blues cuts collectively known as “Victory Motel Sessions.”

Victor Motel Sessions” is available here
Band info: facebook