Friday 6 February 2015

The Sludgelord Premiere: 'Ornaflux' by Taken By The Sun

Chicago mathcore post-metal doom quintet TAKEN BY THE SUN will release their self released debut album February 24th via bandcamp. Featuring members of Scientist, the band originally formed in 2011 and released a 5-song demo back in 2013. They take their cues from bands like NeurosisIsisPelicanRosettaMouth of the ArchitectRed Sparrowes and The Ocean “without replicating them” a press release said. 

Taken By The Sun are a Chicago metal band rooted in the doom and stoner metal tradition but devoted to moving those genres forward. At the core of their sound are fuzz-saturated guitars, grinding bass, cavernous drums, and dry-throated vocals; without a doubt the band is indebted to their venue-shaking, riff-worshipping doom and post-metal peers. But the progressive metal acrobatics, lush vocal harmonies, and pedal steel twang which are also part of their sound heighten the drama and intensity of their metal experimentation. Now with their self-titled debut, Taken By The Sun have been able to convey the energy and diversity of their music in recorded form. Recorded live at Electrical Audio in Chicago with only minimal subsequent overdubs, the album is faithful to both the earnestness and magnitude of the band's sound.

Taken By The Sun is William Arroyo, Patrick Auclair, Justin Cape, Mark Cichra, and Kris Ziemlo. Their self-titled debut album was engineered by Sanford Parker (Minsk, Nachtmystium, Corrections House) and mastered by Collin Jordan at The Boiler Room. The album will be released on February 24th

Today, it gives us great pleasure to have teamed up with the band and Earsplit PR to make the closing track, “Ornaflux” available here for streaming. If you like what you hear head over to their bandcamp to preorder, because this record rules.   

You will find the album and the pre-order at this location.

For more information: