Sunday, 23 February 2020

ALBUM REVIEW: Disastroid, "Mortal Fools"

By: Peter Morsellino 

Album Type: Full Length
Date Released: 14/02/2020
Label: Heavy Psych Sounds Records

“Mortal Fools” CD//DD//LP track listing:

1. 8hr Parking
2. Hopeless
3. Mortal Fools
4. The Crewser
5. Reset
6. Bilge
7. Insect Mind
8. Deep Well
9. Space Rodent

The Review:

San Francisco's Disastroid returns with an eclectic mix of hard hitting rock tunes. Acid dripping desert rock intermingles with fuzzed out doom and grimy proto-grunge to create a nonstop rollercoaster of riffs.

Brooding melancholy reminiscent of Alice in Chains mixes well with an overarching sense that these guys are having a great time. This dynamic is the driving force behind the album. “Mortal Fools” is a litany of contrasts, without becoming contradictory.  A yin and a yang that keeps this record spinning. 

Tracks like “Reset” greet us with a familiar bouncy rock and roll sound not unlike early Mudhoney.  In stark contrast are songs like the aptly titled “Hopeless”, with moody tones painting a bleak picture.  Keep an ear out for closing track “Space Rodent”, a bluesy romp with some delightfully crunchy guitars and an Oh so funky bass.

And speaking of the bass. I would be remiss to not make a special note of the incredible talents of bassist Travis Williams, whose superb tones lead this album straight to the top of the pile. From chunky distorted riffs to funky romps and bouncing passages, this guy is a star for sure.

“Mortal Fools” is an album that needs to be heard.  It needs to be experienced.  There is a sense of nostalgia running throughout it, but more so, a sense of origin. Disastroid takes us back to where it all began, reminding us of why we fell in love with these gritty filthy rock songs. Give it a listen. You won't regret.

“Mortal Fools” is available HERE

Band info: bandcamp || facebook