Thursday 19 May 2016

The Sludgelord Video Premiere - "Berserk" by Deadlock

Deadlock have always been about extremes – and always will be! Fans love these Germans for every emotional force run through the raging depths of death metal, technical prowess, borderline pop-laden melodies, nods to classic metal, and casual flirtation with trance and beats. As expected, their new album “Hybris” turns out to be a multi-faceted monster in terms of both shape and content – and at the same time painfully digs through the last events in the Deadlock camp. Despite the tragic death of founder and drummer Tobias Graf (immortalized with a minute of silence on the album) and the departure of singer Sabine Scherer (now replaced by Margie Gerlitz), the megalomaniac creative urge could not be suppressed.

2016 sees Deadlock rising from the ashes, scarred, but heads held high. “Hybris” finds its inseparable counterpart in a 90 min DVD documentary 'The Longest Road' that translates the album concept to visuals. A gripping and blunt rollercoaster ride that sees light in the blackest night – and that is something only Deadlock can achieve!  Today at The Sludgelord you can check out the premiere of their first new song “Berserk” and John Gahlert’s thought of this new track. 

„Releasing our first new song “Berserk“ is a dream come true for all of us, but at the same time the end of a long journey, aswell as the starting point of our new path. Never before has a DEADLOCK song been so important for every single bandmember, never before did we invest so much blood, sweat and tears for a video. “Berserk“ is the first official song with Margie Gerlitz as our female vocalist and we’re very excited to see whether our loyal supporters will feel the depth in her voice just as we do…“ John Gahlert (Vocals

You can pre-order "Hybris" now!

“Hybris” CD//DD track listing:

01. Epitaph
02. Carbonman
03. Berserk
04. Blood Ghost
05. Hybris
06. Wrath / Salvation
07. Backstory Wound
08. Ein Deutsches Requiem
09. Vergebung (Acoustic Instrumental)
10. Welcome Deathrow
11. Uncivil Hands (Morning Again-Cover)
12. Fight Song (Marilyn Manson-Cover)

Band info: facebook