Monday 14 July 2014

Deaf Proof - Death Sounds Angry - EP Review

Death Sounds Angry cover art

Record Type: EP
Date Released: March 01st 2014
Label: Self Released

Death Sounds Angry - track listing:

1.Death Sounds Angry and Hungry for More 06:39
2.Origin of Pain 18:32
3.The Sense 09:15


The Band was formed in late 2006 by Pedro (d), Holger (b) and Fredo (v/g), later reinforced by Til (g).

From that point of time they started jamming and working out their ideas. In autumn 2007 the band split up with guitar-player Til who was replaced by Phil. In early 2008 the band decided to substitute Holger and to search for a new bassplayer. But nevertheless Deaf Proof recorded their first demo that was released in april 2008. The bass on the demo was played by Phil. Deaf Proof found the new four stringer Angus in june 2008. In december the band unfortunately had to search for a new bassplayer again and in march 2009 JP joined the gang.

Together they recorded a 2-track live-demo in july. The combo recorded the "Beyond the Orange Door Demo" from autumn 2009 till winter 2012 and released it in april 2013. In april Phil also left band, but Deaf Proof continued as three-piece.

In march 2014 the band released the "Death Sounds Angry" EP including three different songs with three different vibes. Since 2010 the band did shows with amongst others Snarf, Stonewall Noise Orchestra, Abrahma, Mother of God, Naam, Mars Red Sky, Sideburn and Omega Massif.

Band Members

J. Fredo - Vox & Guitar
JP - Bass
Pedro - Drums


Deaf Proof impressed me back in April 2013 when I reviewed their previous release – Beyond The Orange Door Demo. As it was a hypnotic mix of Desert Rock, Stoner Rock and huge lashings of FUZZ. If you love Kyuss and Truckfighters then Deaf Proof would of rocked your world.

Well almost a year later the band released their new EP – Death Sounds Angry – A song opus lasting for a mind-expanding 35 mins or so. Nothing much has changed from their excellent demo release. And why should it. They already had a winning mix of great riffs and kick-ass vocals. I am pleased to say that Deaf Proof have upped the volume to maximum levels as the FUZZ is dripping from the stereo.

It helps the band have added a more trippier acid like atmosphere to the mix as it gives their sound extra thick crunchy riffs especially on superb opening track – Death Sounds Angry and Hungry For More. A song combining classic stoner rock riffage with modern day fuzzy desert rock vibes. What more could you want from a blistering Desert/Stoner Rock album.

Well how about an 18 minute epic song that blends Acid Rock, Progressive Rock, Stoner Rock, Desert Rock with a whole lot more dangerous Fuzz that would make Truckfighters blush. Origin of Pain is a stunning track that will have you coming back for more. Play this one nice and loud to experience the full trippy effect!!!

It all ends on almighty high with another epic song. The Sense – which proves Deaf Proof are a band with a bright future indeed. Ladies and Gentleman it's time to meet the new Kings of Fuzz.

You all need to download this now. You won't regret it. It's available on Buy Now Download from BandCamp. Plus the guys have added two download links for you to download the album from. MP3 and AIF.

Incredible Stuff.

Check The Band From Links Below

Written by Steve Howe