Tuesday 21 April 2015

Conclave - ‘Breaking Ground’ EP (Review)

Album Type: EP
Date Released: 19/11/2014
Label: Self Released

‘Breaking Ground’ CD//DD track listing:

1). Footprints in Blood
2). Lifetime
3). Walk The Earth (No Longer)

Conclave is:

Jerry Orne | Bass, vocals
Jeremy Kibort | Guitars
Dan Blomquist | Drums, percussion


This is a three track EP from these Massachusetts masters of metal. It's sludgy, doomy, heavy and groovy. Opener “Footprints in Blood” gives all of the previous adjectives a good definition. The music is heavy but not always aggressive, mournful at times and always weighty. The vocals are raw, abrasive and suit the music well. The sound is thick and raw- no overproduction here. The first track sums the band up well and will allow you to decide if you want to go further. I did, so...

“Lifetime” has a kind of COC vibe (if COC were not a Southern band) as it sets up a groove laden set of riffs. Cool ride work! “Walk The Earth (No Longer)” clocks in at over nine minutes, ensuring you get your money's worth. It has a mellow start before really letting rip with solos and lurching riff rhythms.

Simply put, if you like stoner metal mixed with doom then this is for you. The EP has a raw and energetic quality. Check the band out and find out for yourself.

Words by: Richard Maw

‘Breaking Ground’ is available here

For more information: