Monday 24 February 2014

Hooded Menace - Labyrinth of Carrion Breeze

 Album Type : EP
Date Released : 7/2/2014
Label : Doomentia Records

Labyrinth of Carrion Breeze, track listing :

1). Chasm of the Wraith 09:53
2). The Creeping Flesh 07:38

The Band :

Lasse Pyykkö | Guitars, Vocals
Pekka Koskelo | Drums
Markus Makkonen | Bass
Teemu Hannonen | Guitars

Review :

Labyrinth of Carrion Breeze is the new EP release from Finnish duo, Hooded Menace.

The first of two very lengthy tracks opens with some sporadic and slow crashes on the drums as the bass rolls around menacingly underneath. A deathly roar shows the depths that you will be hitting over the next 20 minutes or so, over the two compositions. An almost stoned double kick drum compliments the viciously low bass whilst the guitars pulsate throughout. The vocals over the whole piece do not deviate from growls, grunts and roars. During Chasm of the Wraith, there is a brief moment where the melody breaks into a seeming twin guitar part. As the track moves towards the end, the pace moves to more standard tempo and the whole piece picks up pace.

The Creeping Flesh opens with a crash and a signature growl. Again, the bass rumbles to a rib shaking degree. The double kick bass works its magic again through the track as the vocals again reek of despair and guttural misery. As the lead guitars come more to the fore they again threaten a twin guitar outbreak. More spoken elements adorn the middle section of the track which is driven by a glorious chugging riff that is certainly one to shake that neck to! The same style riff reappears later in the track with more vigour and swagger.

Both tracks are similar in many ways, but they are by no means samey. The death metal style vocals will please any fan of that genre and the tempo changes with low end riffs are excellent. Both tracks are memorable pieces of music that will satisfy any Sludgelord purist!

Words by : Dominic Walsh

You can get it here

For more information :