Sunday 24 May 2015

HYENA - I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream (EP Review)

I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream cover art

Album Type: EP
Date Released: June 09th 2015
Label: Self Released

I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream - Track Listing:

1.False Sense of Nourishment
3.The Barnhouse Effect
4. In the Name of Progress
5.Old Drawings Depict Memories of Trees


Kevin Tuite - Vocals
Jimmy Howell - Guitar
Andrew Gentle - Bass
Zac Dranko - Drums


The new EP by Hyena (formerly New Vegas) is akin to being suddenly attacked in a bar fight. Violent, fast. over as quickly as it starts and leaves you feeling uneasy and wondering what the fuck just happened.

The first track "False Sense Of Nourishment" starts with protracted feedback (a fixture of this record) over a sample telling us "We know things are bad, they're supposed to be bad" before developing into some frenetic time changes almost like a grindcore EyeHateGod.

2nd track "Growth" sees this theme continue, but the band also show they aren't afraid of dynamics with an eerie slow section complete with almost Black Metal style vocals over the top.

"The Barnhouse Effect" and "In The Name Of Progress" deliver more of the same. Massive riifs, lightning quick time changes and some seriously pissed off vocals. For me though the last track "Old Drawings Depict Memories" is the standout track and the perfect way to sign off the ep.

Dropping the tempo and again introducing some clean guitars with haunting clean vocals which slowly builds to a massive climax that sees Hyena almost toy with the listener leaving you wondering when the onslaught will end as the final refrain fades in and out and gives way to the last squeals of feedback.

A short and violently concise EP and one that I would urge you to check out when the record is available next month.

Words by Simon Ross Williams

Thanks To Hyena for the promo. I Have No Mouth, and I Must Scream will be available to buy from June 9th 2015.

For More Information