Tuesday 13 January 2015

The Sludgelord News: GRISTNAM: Louisiana Grind-laden Sludgecore Miscreants Featuring haarp And Omean Alumni Unleash Even Less Full-Length Via Housecore Records

Forged in Covington, Louisiana in 2012 in the wake of the dissolution of haarp and Omean,GRISTNAM lives by the grind-groove-repeat ethos churning out billowing odes of revulsion, disease and chronic disenchantment. The band's debut EP, simply titled Release 1, was unleashed into the troposphere in 2013 where underground hordes in the "know" noshed on their sonic punishment with grim delight.  

Proclaimed Thisisbooksmusic.com: "These guys sound like the New Orleans metal bastards they are, taking in the kind of crunch and dirges that come from some of the best metal bands out of the south, but also adding in a thick hardcore punk spirit that results in songs with a number of different texture and tempo changes within. They remind of bands like Bone Dance, The Dillinger Escape Plan, and Retox, but with their own richness that help keep them low and high at the same time. When the band starts getting rhythmically in touch with one another, it's an awesome groove. When they sound like they're bombarding as they musically machete each other, it's beautiful. None of the songs go over the three-and-a-half minute mark, and I'm almost afraid to know what would happen if they did. They might create something that builds as an epic, before they end things in a satisfactory mass suicide. I look forward to how they'll punch me next."

GRISTNAM's eagerly-awaited follow-up comes in the form of Even Less, a duel bruiser that features the five tracks from their Release 1 EP and six new violent requiems. Even Less is the cumulative sound of a society gone rotten and comes at you swinging by way of Housecore Records.

Even Less Track Listing:
Side A
1. Etch And Burn
2. Column V
3. Embedded
4. Guilt Runs Red
5. Load/Depress

Side B
6. Wake
7. Copperhead
8. Cells
9. Riding Home
10. Wallow
11. Oak Tunnel

GRISTNAM personnel:
Greg Bourgeois - Guitars
Steve Bourgeois - Guitars
Shaun Emmons - Vocals
John Miskimmin - Bass
Keith Sierra, Jr - Drums

Even Less is currently available digitally via the official GRISTNAM BandCamp page HERE, on orange wax (limited to 300 copies) and cassette (limited to 100 copies) via Housecore Records at THIS LOCATION.

Source: Earsplit PR