Saturday 24 January 2015

CHIEFS - Tomorrow's Over (Album Review)

Album Type: Album
Date Released: 24th February 2015
Label: Roosevelt Row Records

Tomorrow's Over – Track Listing

1. Buffalo Roam
2. Like A Match
3. Ride
4. Lows & Highs
5. Palms
6. Peel
7. Tesla
8. Sharp Shooter
9. 1999
10. Vovi
11. Tomorrow’s Over


Chiefs originally began as a two-piece back in January of 2012 in Phoenix, AZ, but after years of releasing demos, touring and playing often around the Phoenix Valley, the duo made the decision to relocate to San Diego, CA. Shortly after, they released a four-song demo entitled Buffalo Roam, and did numerous short west-coast tours to support it. Eventually the group became a three-piece with the permanent addition of a bassist which filled out the low-end of the band and transformed their sound. Look for more details in the coming weeks about the band’s debut full-length, Tomorrow’s Over, and prepare yourself to shed some California light onto the cold winter on February 24th.


Paul Valle, Kevin Michel, Jeff Podeszwik


Southern California Desert Rock/Stoner Rock mob - CHIEFS - have slowly been building up their reputation over the past couple of years with their blend of fuzz laiden Desert Rock/Stoner Rock riffs. They have released an EP and split 7 inch single with Fuzz Evil recently. Now it's time for CHIEFS to show the world what they can do with their debut album - Tomorrow's Over. Some of you may have heard some of the songs from CHIEFS previous releases but the guys have re-recorded some of the songs and they have added a new member to their ranks. So this is CHIEFS V2.0 playing the songs they were meant to be heard.

Opening track - Buffalo Roam - is a steady mix of Hard Rock, Desert Rock, Fuzz and a whole lot of confident Stoner Rock swagger. CHIEFS pay homage to the legendary Desert/Stoner Rock scene but still showing the musical world some original grooves of their own. The vocals have a slightly over-confident feel but that's a good thing as it shows CHIEFS aren't afraid stamping their own authority this early on the album.

Second track - Like A Match - transports you back to the legendary early days of the Desert Rock/Stoner Rock scene as CHIEFS harness the magical rhythms and power of Kyuss and Fu Manchu with a dash of Monster Magnet whilst creating their own sound. It's a loud and bass heavy affair where the riffs have a slight hint of anger appearing. Watch out for an extended jam-based instrumental riff session towards the end of the song as CHIEFS turn into an instrumental power-trio. It's one of my fave parts of the album as it shows what a wise decision to expand CHIEFS into a threesome as they originally started as a duo.

Their sound has more depth and intelligence to it. It can be very hypnotic at times and the band has written some great lyrics to match the excellent music on show. Third Track - Ride - is one of the albums heaviest tracks as CHIEFS unleash extra FUZZ which crackles with violent gusto and energy. You can tell early on this album is going to be a blast from start to finish. CHIEFS feel they have created a greatest hits album rather than a debut album. Songs such as Lows and Highs, Peel, Sharpshooter, 1999 and Tomorrow's Over - all have that classic Stoner/Desert Rock feel.

Peel has to be my fave song on the album as it has a great lyrics to sing-along to and CHIEFS add a sublime 70s Hard Rock vibe that will bring back happy memories for people of a certain age. Tomorrow's Over has CHIEFS proving they are worth giving a damn about. Southern California has been a constant source of influence to the Desert Rock/Stoner Rock scene and you can see that tradition continuing with CHIEFS , as these guys have the musical talent to go a very long way within the scene.

Tomorrow's Over is anything but over for the band as they've created a superb debut album that will no doubt raise their profile and hopefully see them performing with their musical heroes. Tomorrow's Over is the perfect love-letter to bands past and present within the Desert/Stoner Rock scene though also showing CHIEFS are no mere copycats but a brilliant band within their own right.

'Thanks to Cat Jones at Southern Cross PR for the promo. Tomorrow's Over will be available to buy on CD/DD from February 24th 2014 via Roosevelt Row Records. Vinyl will be released through Battleground Records around May 2015.

Words by Steve Howe

For More Information