Tuesday 13 May 2014

MUSTH - Ebb & Flow - Album Review

Ebb & Flow cover art

Album Type:Album
Date Released: Nov 30th 2013
Label: Funtime Records

Ebb & Flow track listing:

1.Tides 09:24
2.In Tranquil Waters 05:28
3.Anchored 06:08
4.The Flood 08:43
5.And On The Day We Sail 04:43
6.The Journey 07:10
7.Into The Waves 09:32


Musth was born a couple of years ago, when some people got together to play music inspired by postrock, indie and alternative metal. After the release of an interesting demo, the band got picked up by funtime records. At the time, vocalist Tim joined the band and soon after that debut album 'Padjelanta' was presented to the world. An album that showed a band that was able to combine beautiful melodies with a furocious intensity and thundering soundscapes. A listening experience that drew the attention of both audience and press. This resulted in high profile gigs at the AB, VK, Ieperfest, Funtime Fest and a whole lot more. Late 2011, founding member Stijn left the band and was replaced by Benjamin (Crosses).

With a new member on board, the band started working on new songs with a fresh vibe and an open view. The astonishing result of this creative process is the album you're about to listen to. 'Ebb & Flow' is all the title refers to...the calm almost serene mood Ebb stands for is found in beautiful and repetitive waves of melodies, soaring guitarriffs and tiny waves of drums...while flow stands for the raw, fierce and intense riffage, thundering drums and apocalyptic vibe some songs burst into.

On this new Musth album, there's also room for some extra visitors like Matthijs from Grown Below, who's voice is adding an extra angellike layer to 'In Tranquil waters' , while Brent from Steak nr. Eight is preaching the church of doom in 'The Flood'. But enough talking and reading, we strongly advice you to sit down in a comfortable seat, put on the speakers and get ready for a listening trip that will give you to chance to forget about all daily worries... join the Ebb & Flow...

The Band Members

Shana: bass
Tim: vocals
Bram: drums
Benjamin: guitar
Jens: guitar, slide


I have to apologise to the band for the lateness of this review as I promised them this review ages ago. And I mean ages ago. Right down to business. What do we have with Ebb & Flow the new album by Musth.

Well it's a hybrid of Sludge Metal, Post-Rock, Doom and Hardcore all held together by heavy and hazy mix of Post Metal ambient riffs that will appeal to fans of Neurosis and Isis. Though Musth have their own dynamic edge to standout from the crowd. Opening track – Tides – features a stirring mix of heavy sludgy vibes mixed with ambient post-rock quiet tones before the band unleash their brutal post-metal carnage to the mix. Tim's vocals are more like guttural battle cries and they have a violent but tender edge to them. It's a great start to the album as Musth show you their in control of their own destiny as the music becomes more heavier, louder and hits you on an emotional level as times goes by.

Tracks such as In Tranquil Waters, Anchored and The Flood show you that this band are a hugely talented unit who know how to write and play an uncompromising riff. Sure it doesn't stray from the usual Sludge/Post-Metal albums currently out there but which band doesn't. Ebb & Flow has many great ideas of it's own to make it worth your while to check this band out.

The production is superb through out. It has a slight under-produced feel compared against their post-metal contemporaries and that is quite a good thing for this album as it means Musth focus on impressive riffs and song-writing that will have you coming back for more. It has the perfect mix of ambient post-rock quiet vibes against the louder and heavier more dangerous post-metal riffs that will leave a lasting impression on you.

Ebb & Flow is a stunning musical odyssey that makes you feel your actually floating on a volatile ocean. Yeah I like this album a lot and I have no hesitation in recommending this album to you all.

Excellent and Highly Recommended.

Ebb & Flow is now available to buy on DD/CD/Vinyl from BandCamp now.

Check The Band From Links Below

Written by Steve Howe