Saturday 13 July 2013

High On Fire - Spitting Fire Live Vol. 1 & 2 (Album Review)

Album Type : 2 Disc Live Album
Date Released : 18/6/2013
Label : E1 Music

Track Listing:

Spitting Fire Live Volume 1:

1. Serums Of Liao
2. Frost Hammer
3. 10,000 Years
4. Devolution
5. Last
6. Fertile Green
7. Speedwolf

Spitting Fire Live Volume 2:

1. Rumors Of War
2. DII
3. Fury Whip
4. Madness Of An Architect
5. Face Of Oblivion
6. Hung Drawn and Quartered
7. Blood From Zion

8. Snakes for the Divine


Matt Pike - Guitars, Vocals
Des Kensel - Drums
Jeff Matz - Bass

When asked to review this live album by Aaron from the Sludgelord I gladly agreed. High on Fire is one of those bands that does it right. They write great fucking songs, excellent musicianship, and are still influencing so many people in the Rock n Roll game today. I am happy to say I am one of them.
From the first notes of Serums of Liao from Volume 1 to the last note from Snakes for the Divine on Volume 2, this album takes you on a complete journey.  Whether  the head nodding groove of 10,000 Years to the all out assault of Frost Hammer, you get everything and more from these three bad motherfuckers.  After a complete listening session, it was better than I even thought it would be.
The thing about High on Fire is the absolute full sound they project. Matt Pike’s axe grinding is so distinct and crisp, all the while singing lyrics that would make a PTA meeting run away and hide. Jeff Matz bass is like a bricklaying foundation, and Des Kensels’ drums are so ferocious, it is as if a locomotive drove down your windpipe for kicks.
The bottom line, this is a must have, not just for people into doom, stoner, machu peechu, or whatever else the kids are calling it these days. This is a great Rock album from start to finish. Every track has its own vibe, its own statement and that is what differentiates this 3 three piece from most of the other bands touring right now.
There are no fillers like a lot of other live albums out there. This live recording left me wanting more. As Snakes for the Divine was ending, I wanted to scream out for an encore, to hear the menacing sound that was crushing my eardrums in an ever so wonderful way.
I was thinking of highlights and it hit me that every tune is in itself a highlight. My personal favs before listening were Devilution, 10,000 Years and Blood from Zion. However, I am sure as I listen more and more, other songs will grab me in a different way, and that is the key to this album ladies and gentleman, it grabs you. It not only grabs you, it makes you feel good as if you were Halle Berry in Monsters Ball. The playing is so god dam good that if you are not moved in one way or the other, than you should be tested for fuckheaditis.
An album like this does not come along daily, so buy it now. What are you waiting for, get off your ass and get it. If you were not a fan of High on Fire before, trust me, you will be a fan after this destroys your eardrums. Crank it, get your air chops ready, and be prepared for a rock n roll workout of epic proportion.  If not, well, I think you know what you can do.
So on a scale from 1 to 10, I give it an 11. Speedwolf itself get s an 11 for the layout this tune creates from start to finish. Pure fucking  genius.
In closing, not only get this album, but get out there and see High on Fire when they come storming into your town. The live sound that has been making love to your ears needs your eyes to witness the masters of their craft in person.

Words by : Marc Gaffney

As ever, show your support to the band by checking them out at the various links.  You can buy the CD/Vinyl here.  DD is available here and here