Monday 29 April 2013

Kamikabe - Aberration of Man (Album Review)

Album Type : Full Length
Date Released: 28/8/2012
Label : Unique Leaders

Aberration of Man, album tracklisting:
1. Intro
2. Leprous Divinity
3. The Rot
4. Sufferer
5. The Process Within
6. Interlude
7. Nefarious
8. Magure
9. Only the Dead Rest
10. Ungoliant


Founded in 2003 and hailing from Pittsburgh, PA the band brings many new elements to the tech..., death metal scene while still keeping power and extreme intensity. With years of grinding under their belt and the successful release of their EP "Aporia," Kamikabe are ready to unleash their sophomore effort "Aberration of Man" on the masses via Unique Leader Records.

Line up

Max Short - Guitar
Jake Smatana - Guitar
Matt Rucinski - Bass
BJ Sarnese - Drums
Matt Grossi - Vocals

Review:... more

Kamikabe’s debut album ‘Aberration of Man’, released by Unique Leader Records on the 28th of August 2012, is a storming, riveting listen, with pummelling drum blasts and terrorizing guitars that simply drag your mind from the mires of indifference onto the battlefield of attention. When you put this on for the first time, put on your war face and get ready to roar.

The introduction is a guitar overture, a subtle, rising little piece that makes the hair stand on the back of your neck and gets your mind amped for the carnage to follow. And it does follow with gusto: ‘Leprous Divinty’ is heavier than the Iron Giant’s balls, and just as terrifying to behold. It’s a Gatling gun of a song, reminiscent of Gojira and Deicide, and most definitely worthy of any death lover’s time.

But this is only the beginning, and there are eight other riotous offerings to batter your eardrums on this album. ‘The Rot’ is a throttling, monster-truck of a track that hurtles through your speakers at you at 100 miles per hour, with squeals of pinch-harmonics and spitting, seething vocals. It’s quickly followed up by ‘Sufferer’, a sweeping, pounding rager so relentless in its aural assault it’s less a song, more a call to arms to those who deem themselves brutal enough.

After the onslaught that is ‘The Process Within’ comes a brief respite. ‘Interlude’ may only clock in at 1 minute 29 seconds, but it is a haunting, beautiful instrumental that allows you time to rest and recuperate from your auditory battering. It’s only a brief respite, mind you: consider ‘Interlude’ the eye of the musical storm and, once it passes, ‘Nefarious’ slams into you with all the subtlety of a shotgun blast. I almost feel sorry for BJ Sarnese’s drum kit: the poor thing takes an absolute smashing on this magnificent track, all the while guitarists Max Short and Jake Smatana and bassist Matt Rucinski continue their mighty musical onslaught.

‘Magure’ is the second longest song on ‘Aberration…’ and it’s a behemoth, bellowing and breaking all asunder with its hammering riffs and Matt Grossi’s venomous voice. The breakdowns sound like trees being uprooted by a giant and thrown through buildings. It’s proceeded by the truly terrifying ‘Only the Dead Rest’: Kamikabe’s breakneck ode to Cannibal Corpse’s ‘Entrails Ripped from a Virgin’s Cunt’. It’s so fast, so out-and-out unforgiving it’s like being strapped into an electric chair and given the juice.

Then we reach the pinnacle. This is the final song on the album. ‘Ungoliant’. Personally speaking, this is my favourite: it’s a breathtaking, mesmeric epic, the musical equivalent of staring out onto the battlefield after your forces have won and the crows are picking at your enemies’ broken bodies. It sounds to me like Kamikabe wrote this as a reward to the listener: you are worthy of this album, here is your victory march. Stride forth, proud conqueror: join the ranks of the Kamikabe faithful.

Words by : Chris Markwell

As always show your support to the band. You can buy the record here